I rarely meet a hummus I don’t like. Oh, don’t get me wrong – I prefer certain ones substantially over others – but in general, if its chickpeas in a bowl, I’ll eat it. On a vegan diet, hummus is a staple – you can have it for breakfast on a wheat tortilla, at lunch with cut up veggies and at dinner over brown rice. The beans are a source of protein while the tahini and olive oil provide heart-healthy fats.

Sometimes, however, you just need a change of pace. In step white beans:

 

And sundried tomatoes:

Yes, the sundried tomatoes ubiquitous on fine-dining menus in the early ‘90s. Just because they became cliché doesn’t mean they aren’t tasty. Whip them up with a little sesame paste, lemon juice, garlic and white beans and you have a dip of deliciousness.

You can choose jarred sundried tomatoes packed in oil as is or use the dry type and rehydrate by covering them with boiling water and letting them sit 10-20 minutes, or longer.

Ingredients

  • 1 can organic white beans (usually organic versions don’t have BPA, but check the labeling)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • ¼ cup tahini
  • 3-4 sundried tomatoes
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • Juice of one lemon
  • ½ teaspoon smoked paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

In a food processer, whir the garlic and the sundried tomatoes. Add the remaining ingredients, adding a tablespoon or two of water if the dip is too thick and chunky. Process on high until smooth. You could, of course, use a high-speed blender for this dip.

 

 

Serve the white bean dip as you would hummus, as a spread on sandwiches, with chips or pita, on top of a salad, with cut-up veggies or on a spoon. Post-workout filler for sure.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses


  1. vicki shim on 19 May 2012

    Are Mint Julips considered vegan?

    • admin on 21 May 2012

      Vicki -
      complicated question — it depends on what your vegan quest entails. First, if you are drinking it in celebration of horse racing…many vegans would not condone the event. The biggest problem with mint julips is the sugar — most sugar in the US is processed through bone char so very strict vegans will not consume sugar unless they know it is from a vegan manufacturer. Mint is vegan, however. Whiskey’s vegan status is unclear to me as well (depends on the processing). Jameson’s brand is vegan. I hope that helps.


Leave your comment